Top of the pops.

This weekend marks the end of my youth… Though, some might have said my youth ended a while ago… hardy ha ha. What am I talking about? Video Hits!

For those not familiar with the program, it showcased the latest video clips and completely unrealistic competitions (I don’t know who ever won them!). Over time the show evolved to having hosts and interviewing singers (Channel Ten had to place those ex-Australian Idol contestants somewhere).

I was among the many, whose childhoods was shaped by the program — not to mention my teenage years and my early adulthood. I would ritualistically turn on the telly and either plant myself on any couch or try to mimic the dance moves while cleaning… all while commentating on the chart parade with family, friends and housemates or whoever was around to listen to me.

According to Crikey, ‘historically, Video Hits was also one of the limited ways kids could explore their musical tastes in the pre-internet era. Unless you had an older sibling or hip friend, or dared parley with the intimidating punks staffing local record shops, you learned about music from Video Hits, as well as Rage, Smash Hits and TV Hits magazines, and commercial radio top 40 countdowns including Barry Bissell’s Take 40 Australia‘. Exactly! That was me! Pick me!

Apparently VH is the second longest running music TV show in the world; the longest running is the Eurovision Song Contest (Rage premiered in April 1987). But sadly, it has fallen victim to Channel Ten’s ‘restructure’ (or review, as it’s called in my workplace).

Farewell Video Hits, we had such a good time together and just for a bit of nostalgia, here is a bit of Britney before her meltdown.

Speaking of tops, another fast fashion label is heading to Oz, Topshop is rumoured to be opening in Melbourne/Sydney in 2012. According to dropdeadgorgeousdaily who cites ‘industry sources’, Topshop have their eye on a location at the Chapel Street Jam Factory precinct in Melbourne, and it is believed that the short list of Sydney locations include the outer-suburb Chatswood Chase shopping centre.

I wouldn’t be surprised if Topshop and H&M are watching Zara very closely. What will this mean for Sportsgirl? Portmans have already announced closing 15 to 20 stores (out of a total of 133). Is there room in our tiny market for these international labels?

Are you sad about Video Hits? Or are you a Rage fan? RAAA-AGE! Ra, ra, raaagggggeeeeeeeee!

images: Dave Lavington

2 responses to “Top of the pops.

  1. Give me Ra ra ra ra ra Rage any day! It rocks compared to VH or any of the others.

  2. Mike On His Bike

    I preferred the presenters of Video Hits but Rage offered a more diverse range of music.

Leave a comment